National Symbols

Uniquely Costa Rican


The Costa Rican flag consists of five stripes:

  • The blue horizontal stripes represent the sky
  • The white horizontal stripes represent the peaceful nature of Costa Rica
  • The red horizontal stripe represents the blood shed to pursue the freedom of Costa Rica

The Costa Rica Coat of Arms depicts two branches of myrtle which represent the peace of Costa Rica. The white ribbon that joins the branches states in golden letters "Republica de Costa Rica" (Republic of Costa Rica.) The blue ribbon at the top of the coat of arms states in silver letters “America Central” (Central America).

  • The volcanoes represent Costa Rica’s three mountain ranges.
  • The two bodies of water represent the Atlantic and Pacific Oceans.
  • The merchant ships sailing on each ocean represent the cultural and commercial exchange between Costa Rica and the rest of the world.
  • The rising sun represents Costa Rican prosperity.
  • The small circles on both sides of the coat depict coffee beans.
  • The seven stars above the volcanoes represent the seven Costa Rican provinces – Alajuela, Cartago, Guanacaste, Heredia, Limon, Puntarenas, and San Jose.

A beautiful variety of purple orchid popularly called "Guaria Morada", was declared as national flowerl in 1939.


A tree called "Guanacaste", like the Province where it is found, was declared the national tree in 1959, as a tribute to the province joining Costa Rica in 1825.


“El Yiguirro”, a clay-colored robin, was declared the national bird in 1976. Its beautiful singing announces the coming of the rainy season.


“La Carreta” or Oxcart was declared the national symbol of labor in 1988. During the 19th century it was used as a transportation tool for coffee plantations and is now used a decorative accent.